CBR1100XX.org Forum

My forks are topping out.

Big Jeff

My forks seem to be topping out when I go over a large bump. It's mainly when I'm going kinda slow and going over a speed bump or something similar. I hear a "whack" sound of the forks topping out. I have racetech springs, rebound and dampening.

Any Ideas ?

Big Jeff

I've got $50 says it was done wrong. Sorry to be blunt and rude, but... I weigh a little less than you now (but recently weighed more), and have NEVER topped or bottomed the forks since the RaceTech job. I ride over stuff pretty hard, and have done quite a few miles on dirt roads, no problem.

My guess is going to be that you didn't do the rebound shim stack properly or maybe screwed up on the bleed hole? I'm not an expert on the fork jobs, but those are the first obvious things that come to mind. You should call RaceTech.

What oil did you use? How much preload? What level is the oil at?

Michael (CaBeR) had the same issue after having forks/valves installed for him by a competent shop(? :roll: ).

If I remember right, one of the valves was installed wrong, or the valves were installed backwards.

Either way, it sounds like something was botched.

If the damper rod was not installed, you would have known it long ago, but it's easy enough to check, even on the bike.

Did you do the rebound damping rod back up under each cap?

The damper rod controls BOTH rebound and compression damping. Once compressed on the first bump, it would stay there and the bike would just be a pogo stick in both directions.

22mm of preload? I've got almost 120mm in mine with the racetech springs (no valves, but I cant' see that making a difference on preload). Also, I believe racetech recommends 5w for use with their valves.

:shock: Ok well, I guess we can fix you right up.