CBR1100XX.org Forum

Gas mileage/ horsepower

porterb123

I am still new to the blackbird..I have had my 2000 model for a month or 2 now. The guy I bought this one from had installed a PC2/ full Yoshi RS3 and set it up to run on 93 octane. He said it Dynod out to 158 HP.

Does this sound correct?

Also I'm getting around 30 mpg around town and 35 mpg on the interstate with 70 to 90 mph cruising.

How does this compare to your experience?

Thanks

Porter

set it up to run on 93 octane.

WTF does that mean? How do you "set up" a bike to run on 93??? I didn't think the PCIII allowed for ignition advance changes, but I could be wrong. If I am, take it back and have it turned back, since it's well proven that more advance on the XX does absolutely nothing except maybe damage the motor in the long run.

The HP might be optimistic. I ran 147-149 stock with ram air pressurized to 110 MPH, and that was on the high side. A full system (Akrapovic) has been shown to add around 7-8 HP.

The MPG makes me think it is running too rich.

Has your bike been re-geared with a sprocket change?

Earlier this year when it was cooler, I ran 137hp on the dyno. This month (read: really fuckin' hot) I ran 132hp. All stock with Two Bros slip-ons.

I thought we had that discussion once before here. On a dyno, advancing ignition on an FI XX did nothing. Not 1/4 HP, nothing. Zippy. It's the only time my bike's had 93 octane in it. That changed nothing either. I spent 9 hours in the dyno room that day with the two founders of Dynojet fucking with everything possible. In the end we learned that we can eliminate the 5200 RPM fueling problem with a little richening, but that's it.

I've been building motors since I was 8 years old. I built (hand made) my first ignition coil at 5 years old. Sure, I had guidance from dad in both cases, of course. Built my first go kart with a welder and scrap iron plus a dead chainsaw motor at 12-ish. That one was on my own.