CBR1100XX.org Forum

Tire Mounting...

N1K

Forgive the squidly question...

how much of a bitch is it to remove the rear tire?

I've never done it before and I'm trying to decide if I should mess with it, or just say fuck it and have the dealer do it...

It's pretty simple. Takes about 5 minutes if nothing is rusted :shock: on. All the tools you need are in the tool kit under the seat.

1. Place on center stand.

2. Loosen and remove axle nut.

3. Adjust chain tensioners to the front (as much slack as you can get).

4. Rotate wheel slowly, while moving the chain off the sprocket slowly.

5. Jam shoe under tire and remove axle slowly, while holding tire up.

6. Tire/wheel will fall when you remove your shoe.

Careful on the re-install to get the brake rotor between the pads, if you force em, they won't go. Good luck.

Later, Sean.

...getting it back on can be tricky though.... (easier with an extra set of hands)

Yep did this last night-0ff-cake--on----friggin PIA-as nothing really wants to line up--a nice 4 X 6 block helps alot as does opening the rear calipers way out---BTW Nik--I GUARANTEE you will scratch up the rims on the caliper the first few times---nothing personal---its damn near impossible NOT to---just a thought---over the longrun---its a good thing to know how to do

Nik.....Are you hangin' around the garage again?

I'm a whore... I only hang out in here when I NEED something from you guys. :grin:

...getting it back on can be tricky though.... (easier with an extra set of hands)

I found that a shovel helps speed the install... slide the shovel under the tire, and then use your foot to push the handle down... raises tire (aren't levers wonderful) and then it frees both hands to line all the goodies up... There is a company selling a third hand device, for like a hundred bucks... I'll keep using my shovel.. and spend the $$ elsewhere..

way

I found a much easier way to get the wheels on and off.