CBR1100XX.org Forum

What broke?

TFT

We were riding up into the mountains this afternoon. I was riding my '97 XX. I started to smell something burning,, not sure if it was someone's clutch coming down the hill. It didn't really seem like it was coming from my bike. I hit a bump and my speedometer and tach go dead. We pulled off to a rest area and I turned the bike off, let ot set for a few minutes and then tried to start it. Barely any charge in the battery, the bike barely cranked over and then nothing.

I rolled the bike down hill, and bump-started it. The bike fired up and the gauges came back to life. I started riding back down the mountain, covered about a mile and the gauges went dead again. I made it about 5 miles down the mountain and then the engine started to sputter and backfire and then the engine went dead. I coasted about another mile until I hit a flatt spot. I called some friends and we laoded the bike into the back of a pick-up and brought it home.

What could be the cause? I couldn't find any burnt wires and there wasn't any burnt odor from the bike.

Rectifier?

The battery is dead so I have it on a charger. On Tuesday i plan to take it to Honda, The dealership is only 5 miles away. Could I stick the charged battery back in it and make it or should I load it up and haul it?

Ok if you have a volt meter that also reads olms try this after you fully charge your battery. This should nail down your problem (battery, stator, RR). http://www.cbr1100xx.org/forums/index.php?...c=10378&hl=

If you find out it's the RR get a 2001 Yamaha R1 RR like this. http://www.cbr1100xx.org/forums/index.php?...mp;hl=rectifier

Hope that helps.