CBR1100XX.org Forum

HELP! 97 & 98 carbed guys, need to brainstorm.

Pete in PA

When I took my test ride to check the head bearings and suspension work I just completed, I did it naked. (the bike not me) Something I've never done before.

For the FI guys the airbox inlets face almost perfectly forward, one on the left and one on the right, usually shrouded in plastic (the upper fairing) to stop any direct air blast. Fresh air is let in through the little slots, one on each side of the upper.

Does it sound right that the fairing is also regulating the amount of air going into the airbox?

Now I understand that it's not air tight in there but I think it almost acts as part of the airbox.

When I took my ride the bike didn't quite run right, it had it's flat spot (again) at 3500rpm that I had got rid of with carb tuning.

Since the left airbox intake is easily accesible, I covered it with my gloved hand while riding and the bike instantly ran like normal.

I went home and duct taped the left one closed and the bike ran perfect from idle till redline, just like it always does.

I also would then cover the other one with my hand with the throttle lock on and it would instantly kill the engine so I know I have an air tight airbox.

So I've got some questions. If the bike can breath through 1/2 it's normal intake, how much performance are we losing? Kind of throws out the K&N air filter debate doesn't it?

Could we ram air the bike and gain some power or at least open up the fairing holes and rejet?

Now today I'm almost done with the rest of my maint. and putting all the tuperware on but now it's snowing so I can't test it again.

Unless I suddenly developed a fuel or carb problem, I can't think of anything else.

Keep in mind I've had my bike dynoed and can do first gear power wheelies with stock gearing so it's at full power.