CBR1100XX.org Forum

initial suspension setup

carl

so i took the new bird down to galveston this weekend; it was the first longer ride she's been on.

i've noticed how "bouncy" the ride of the bike is, but this longer ride (and the fact i had a passenger) seemed to just exacerbate the problem.

i feel ashamed because i'm a mechanical engineer, but i'm totally ignorant about how to properly set-up the bike's suspension. i'd get out there and start fooling with the settings, but i don't know that i'd be able to discern what would be considered an improvement.

i'm 6'2"-6'3", ~230 lbs.

can anyone help me out with how to set the bike up? (the more detailed the better)

unfortunately this is a small problem w/ this bike. the front is unadjustable and the rear only has spring preload and rebound damping. check your owners manual for those adjustments and yes it is a little springy.

The bouncy-ness is due to the highly over-damped front end. First it has a hard time compressing the forks when you hit the bump, and then then you get to the other side, the wheel can't return to touch the ground fast enough so the front of the bike drops. Both of these contribute to that really harsh ride you're feeling. The back is almost the same, but it is slightly adjustable. With the rear, turn the adjuster more towards the soft end of the scale.

To fix this, you put in an aftermarket valve kit. I did that last weekend and I'm in the middle of writing up a tutorial on it right now. This is very unfinished right now, but it will give you an idea about what to do:

How to Replace your Fork Valves and Springs

(Note to Swampy and Joe: This is a work in progress, please don't put it in the lock threads. Once I'm complete, I'll start a new thread with the link in it. You cannot yet get to this page by links from other pages)