CBR1100XX.org Forum

Electrical Trouble shooting

JoWhee

I haven't been to see the trouble yet but I'll explain what's happening, this is at a friends house, which I am now refering to as "green acres"

Circuits breakers are opening about 7-8 times a day. The landlord said he will send out an electrician, she's been waiting over a week, I was up looking at her place a couple of weeks ago and the electrical work isn't that great, I found many small things wrong, if you like not code.. mostly electrical tie in boxes not closed, breakers missing from the pannel without a proper cap (you konw those little plastic jobies) noting critical, just not good work., and it's probably the same guy going to show up to trouble shoot the problem.

I'm a level 2 electrical apprentice (journeyman?) so I know about being safe etc... I know there are a few licensed electricians here so I'd like to pick your brains.

There is water infintraton when it rains, so I'm going to check the plugs, and boxes for moisture, as well as any junction boxes I findas well as the pannel itself, but it hasn't rained in a few days.

Sometimes when she runs 2 appliances it will blow the breakers, even if they are on different circuits, could this be a load balancing problem?

When she comes home there are circuits blown, when in theory the only thing operating bigger than a clock radio when she's not there is the fridge (less than a year old).

The house is cupped...

Ok so here's what I'm looking for:

humidity, load balancing, short circuits (I may just bring a megger and test everything), I'll be looking for scorch marks on the receptacles.

Anything else?

Not an electrician, but I'll throw in an idea...

Had a friend named Gerry, whos next door neighbor wired his house Backwards.

Because White is negative here and Black in positive (residential), he reversed them thinking that black is always ground or negative (automotive).