CBR1100XX.org Forum

Need some help please

ErikL

Hi all, need some help here. Just got my 2001XX out from winter storage. I did start it a couple of times over the winter months and she ran fine. Yesterday, I added some fuel injector cleaner and started her. She was hard to start with a fully charged battery, and then ran a little rough, almost like it is missing. I do have a power commander and checked that it seemed to be working correctly. That is, the lights on the unit were moving in response to the throttle position. I disconnected the fuel line, drained the gas, flushed the tank, and replaced with fresh gas. I started her up, and she is still running rough. I took it for a quick ride up the street, and power is way down. At this time, I noticed the exhaust cans were really starting to carbon up, and I could smell unburned gas. She does not want to idle, and will die if I don't keep her running with the throttle. I'm not a total mechanical moron, so I'm going to check the plugs and try to trouble shoot from the factory shop manual. Unfortunately, I don't have a lot of time to troubleshoot or work on her, as I'm putting my house up for sale in the next week or so. Can anyone give me any quick tips or things to look for? Or, would the local dealer be able to quickly trouble shoot, if they connected the bike to their computer? Thanks in advance for the help.

ErikL

Raise the tank, on the right side of the fuel rail is a rubber line going to the tank. NOT THAT ONE!!!! But , there is another that is a vacumn line. If gas runs out that, BAD FUEL PRESSURE REGULATOR. Mr turbo best one but more expensive.

Make sure that the plug on the aircleaner is hooked up Air temp sensor, will make it run rich and fowl the plugs.

Raise the tank, on the right side of the fuel rail is a rubber line going to the tank. NOT THAT ONE!!!! But , there is another that is a vacumn line. If gas runs out that, BAD FUEL PRESSURE REGULATOR. Mr turbo best one but more expensive.