CBR1100XX.org Forum

Pneumatic nailer advice

RXX

I am a total newbie here, so excuse the question if it sounds stupid or I omit critical information.

I am about to nail 60+ pieces of plywood inside my barn. The pieces will be 3/8-3/4" and will be secured on to untreated, but painted 2X4's.

I want to get a pneumatic nail gun for this. I want cheap, so I am thinking HF. What size nails should I use, and what type/size nailer should I get to do this more or less one time job?

Are you attaching them to the walls, floor or ceiling? Will you be installing anything over the plywood? Personally I would use screws rather than nails but if you want to use a nail gun you'll want to shoot a nail with a head so my suggestion would be a framing nailer using 7D or 8D nails. You might also consider a crown stapler instead of nails. All depends on how concerned you are with the plywood shifting/moving/loosening as the framing and sheathing swells and shrinks.

Are you attaching them to the walls, floor or ceiling? Will you be installing anything over the plywood? Personally I would use screws rather than nails but if you want to use a nail gun you'll want to shoot a nail with a head so my suggestion would be a framing nailer using 7D or 8D nails. You might also consider a crown stapler instead of nails. All depends on how concerned you are with the plywood shifting/moving/loosening as the framing and sheathing swells and shrinks.

The majority will be on a 14' wall. Nothing over the plywood, I will be attaching stuff like shelves, cabinets, tool hangers, a metal the medallion and medal the cross.

There will be some interior ceilings on a couple of sections. I will probably use OSB for that, so 3/4" will be most likely, since it will serve as the floor of my loft also.