CBR1100XX.org Forum

Helmet to Helmet innercoms

rcskisfast

Hey Don't need to talk to other riders just the passenger. Would like to listen to music but not a requirment. Thanks for the feedback! Ron

Hey Don't need to talk to other riders just the passenger. Would like to listen to music but not a requirment. Thanks for the feedback! Ron

I'm no expert on this but the Chatterbox units works pretty well for this. Spec them pretty carefully to ensure headset and cord compatibility. Consider whether you want helmet speakers or ear plug speakers. The music input may have to be a wired connection unless you are a Bluetooth guru. You can spend a lot or a little. I have the GMRS X1 unit because it allows intercom mode and bike to bike communication. You will get lots of opinions on this, most more informed than mine, and you can spend a lot of dough. Just keep it simple. Good luck.

Check it out

have had chatterbox for about 6 years.

I would score it about a 75 out of 100...

Pros:

Works well around town and at speeds under 50 to passenger or other rider. Works great as a means to get mp3 and the like into your helmet. Push to talk button works well. Use a single cable to helmet and hook everything else up, including unit, in a "Manta" (small) tank bag. Cost compared to other units is relatively inexpensive.

Cons:

VOX (voice activation) is worthless. Speeds over 50 suck with all helmets... you get too much wind noise in the mic. After 4 years, cables needed to be replaced. Bulky mounted on helmet, and mounting hardware breaks easily.

Just one man's humble opinion