CBR1100XX.org Forum

Turbo assisted bird

R1000

Is any of you using a turbo assisted bird on a daily basis? What are your findings, is it something that you can recommend, or is it not worth the effort and cost involved?

My experience from the car side is that a turbo is next to a must thing. I’m driving a Volvo 60 T5 that is chipped from stock 250 to 300 hp and that was a real good investment on the play account. The performance is far beoynd the classic Chevy SB engines that I used when the hair was thicker... I’m still driving the same Volvo S60 after almost 6 years and have no plans to change for long. The upgrade was followed up by adjustable shocks that handles much better than the worn stockers. In case it would have been a 140 hp base model it would have been replaced years ago, and that would have cost much more over these years.

In case turbo works as good on a motorcycle it may be a good idea to think more about this. I have some common tech knowledge and tools etc. and a garage to work in. Still, if it is a high-risk application and cost a lot I’ll pass since I appreciate the bike in its current condition.

It is a hahn kit with some custom parts from EFR racing www.efrracing.com

I had it installed in October so I have only been riding it for a month or so and only put about 6-700 miles on it so far.

neil has the same basic setup on his bike

basically bolt on. you must find someone to tune it right.

I am still running stock compression, stock injectors but high flow fuel pump. HanksXXX has a carbed bird he used a thick head gasket to lower compression.

XX4me and Elixxer have turbo built motors.

I could get 30-40 more hp if I used a dump pipe and opened up my lower for bigger air filter/intake.

I am running around 204rwhp at 10lbs of boost pump gas (93 octane or higher)

post-1465-1196366854.jpg

post-1465-1196366964.jpg

basically bolt on. you must find someone to tune it right.